

Organiser

Lead Sponsor





The Hong Kong Institute of Directors Announces Winners of Directors Of The Year Awards 2011

Hong Kong, 29 November 2011 – The Hong Kong Institute of Directors ("HKloD") announced and honoured winners of the Directors Of The Year Awards ("DYA") 2011 today at the Annual Dinner of the Institute held at the Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre. More than 600 guests from different industries and sectors were there to celebrate the winners' achievements in corporate governance excellence.

The evening was hosted by Dr Kelvin Wong, Chairman of The Hong Kong Institute of Directors with Professor K C Chan, Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury, as the Guest of Honour.

In its eleventh year, the Awards recognise outstanding directors and promote best practices for board self-evaluation as an essential attribute critical to the effective performance of the governing board of a corporation or an organisation. The theme of DYA 2011 is "Enhancing Director Professionalism through Board Self-Appraisal".

Professor K C Chan said, "In an era of increased scrutiny by regulators, stakeholders and the public, the best boards evaluate themselves by their commitment to improve leadership and corporate governance. Good corporate governance promotes efficient and effective company direction, creating an environment of healthy internal control and delivering long-term value for shareholders and stakeholders. Companies committed to the highest standards of corporate governance continually review their practices to ensure their compliance with the required regulatory regimes. These companies play an important role in making Hong Kong Asia's premier capital market."

Dr Kelvin Wong said, "Good corporate governance plays a vital role in underpinning the integrity and efficiency of financial markets. Companies that are well governed generally outperform others and attract investors' support to fuel further growth. On the contrary, investors can lose confidence in a company if its level of corporate governance is not up to standard. A higher level of assurance is expected nowadays. We are pleased to see that more companies are voluntarily undertaking board self-evaluation to ensure they have a sound and proper corporate governance system in place."

Dr David Wong, Chairman of the Awards Organising Committee of DYA 2011 said, "As we move into the second decade of the Awards' presentation, tonight we proudly honour those who achieve an exemplary standard of corporate governance and renew our commitment to promoting better practices in the future. We hope the Awards can help raise awareness of the importance of corporate governance in society and, in particular, how self-evaluation can be a tool to attain more effective board management."

Dr Carlye Tsui, CEO of HKIoD said, "Effective boards do not just happen. The directors of a board should make collective efforts to become the best. It is the ongoing and innovative conception and implementation of a corporate governance strategy that enables a company to achieve the target it sets for itself in the future. Similar to last year, the 28-member panel of judges went through a rigorous and stringent process in selecting the winners among many candidates. The Awards this year wish to honour companies and their directors that adopt a strategy aimed at a high standard corporate governance, which is a key aspect of long-term sustainable business performance."

The winners of the DYA 2011 in the various award categories are listed below.

Listed Companies (SEHK – Hang Seng Index Constituents)	
Board	Board of Directors, Ping An Insurance (Group) Company of
	China, Ltd.
Listed Companies	(SEHK – Non Hang Seng Index Constituents)
Executive	Mr George Hongchoy
Director	Executive Director and Chief Executive Officer, The Link
	Management Limited
Executive	Dr Kwok Siu Ming BBS JP
Director	Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Sa Sa International
	Holdings Limited
Executive	Dr Jack Lau
Director	Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Perception Digital
	Holdings Limited
Executive	Mr LUO Lin
Director	Chairman, Anton Oilfield Services Group
Executive	Dr Zhang Guang Hua
Director	Executive Director and Executive Vice President, China
Nan Francis	Merchants Bank Company Limited
Non-Executive	Mr Nicholas Robert Sallnow-Smith
Director	Chairman and Independent Non-Executive Director, The Link
Deard	Management Limited
Board	Board of Directors, Anton Oilfield Services Group
Board	Board of Directors, ARA Asset Management (Fortune)
Ctatutam/Nan Draf	Limited
Statutory/Non-Profit Distributing Organisations Board Board Opportunities Commission	
	Board of the Equal Opportunities Commission
Board	Board of Directors, Hong Kong Science and Technology
Deard	Parks Corporation
Board	Board of Directors, Ocean Park Corporation

DYA 2011 is hosted by HKIoD with 83 project partners, including 28 distinguished persons on the Panel of Judges. The project has enjoyed extensive support from the business sector with China Life Insurance (Overseas) Company Limited as the Lead Sponsor, Hop Hing Group Holdings Limited as the Joint Sponsor and a host of renowned companies as Co-sponsors. Supporting Organisations include Government bureaus, the media, service organisations, professional institutes and consultancy firms.

Mr Richard Tsang, Chairman of the Awards Organising Committee of DYA 2012 said: "Apart from announcing this year's awardees, we are delighted to announce the theme of the Directors Of The Year Awards 2012 as 'Enhancing Board Competence through Continuing Professional Development for Directors'."

About Directors Of The Year Awards

First launched in 2001, Directors Of The Year Awards were the first ever such Awards organised in Asia. The project has now become an annual project of impact in the community. The objectives are to recognise directors and board of directors for outstanding director practices and corporate governance, to publicise the significance of good corporate governance and to promote awareness of good corporate governance and director professionalism in Hong Kong. Nominations are open to the public. As good corporate governance is vital to all types of organisations, and professional director practices are encouraged from directors in all board roles, the Awards recognise excellence in categories by company types, including listed companies, private companies and statutory/non-profit-distributing organizations, and categories by roles, including Executive Directors, Non-Executive Directors and Boards. For more details on the previous years' Awards, please visit http://www.hkiod.com/dya-awardees.html

About The Hong Kong Institute of Directors

The Hong Kong Institute of Directors ("HKloD") is Hong Kong's premier body representing professional directors working together to promote good corporate governance to contribute towards advancing the status of Hong Kong, both in China and internationally. A non-profit-distributing organisation with membership consisting of directors from listed and non-listed companies, HKloD is committed to providing directors with educational programmes and information service and establishing an influential voice in representing directors. With international perspectives and a multi-cultural environment, HKloD conducts business in biliteracy and trilingualism. Website: http://www.hkiod.com.

- end -

Media Enquiries:

Strategic Financial Relations Limited

 Heidi So
 +852 2864 4826
 heidi.so@sprg.com.hk

 Cornia Chui
 +852 2864 4853
 cornia.chui@sprg.com.hk

 Sujida Lee
 +852 2864 4852
 sujida.lee@sprg.com.hk

Fax: +852 2527 1196

<u>Directors Of The Year Awards 2011 Enquiries:</u>

The Hong Kong Institute of Directors

Christine Wong+852 2889 4988christine.wong@hkiod.comSusan Ling+852 2889 9986susan.ling@hkiod.com

Fax +852 2889 9982