About the Awards

The HKIoD Award Series for Director Excellence is a project organised by The Hong Kong Institute of Directors (“HKIoD”) and consists of two series of Awards.

The first series, Directors Of The Year Awards, was inaugurated in 2001 as the first ever such Awards organised in Asia.  As directors are ultimately responsible for corporate governance and leading the company in prosperity and integrity, the objectives of the Awards are to recognise outstanding boards and directors and to promote good practices in corporate governance and director professionalism.  The Awards have become an annual project of impact in the community organised by HKIoD together with over 100 Project Partners.  To date, 242 Awardees have been recognised for their achievements in demonstrating exemplary high standards in corporate governance and director practice.

Inaugurated in 2024, Climate Governance Awards constitute the second series of HKIoD Awards with the objectives to recognise and inspire exemplary achievements in climate governance and to advocate climate action by directors.  It is critical time now for directors to address the risks and opportunities of climate change in board agendas and their governance role.

Candidates are open to public nomination, with data processed in well-defined and stringent procedures, followed by interviews with independent consultants in utmost due diligence and finally selected by independent judges with high standards and fair judgment.  Awards are presented by company categories, viz Listed Companies, Non-listed Companies and Statutory/Non-profit-distributing Organisations, and by capacities, viz Executive Directors, Non-Executive Directors and Boards.

Directors Of The Year Awards Project Partners

The Hong Kong Institute of Directors
Financial Services and the Treasury Bureau
Securities and Futures Commission
Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited
Archived Lead Sponsors
Taifook Securities Group High Fashion Group Shenzhen General Chamber of Commerce
Esprit Holdings Limited C C Land Holdings Limited Shenzhen Business Elites Union
Citigroup NewOcean Energy Holdings Limited China Minsheng Drawin Technology Group Limited
The Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation Limited China Life Insurance (Overseas) Company Limited COSCO Pacific Limited
China Taiping Insurance Group Ltd Shenzhen General Chamber of Commerce Shenzhen Business Elites Union
China Minsheng Drawin Technology Group Limited Allied Group Limited Chow Tai Fook Jewellery Group Limited
Standard Chartered Bank (Hong Kong) Limited
Archived Joint Sponsors
Taifook Securities Group Playmates Holdings Limited China Merchants Finance Holdings Company Limited
American International Underwriters, Limited JP Morgan Wing Lung Bank Limited
CLP Holdings Limited NWS Holdings Limited Guotai Junan International Holdings Limited
Corporate Governance Development Foundation Fund Hop Hing Group Holdings Limited The Cross-Harbour (Holdings) Limited
China Resources (Holdings) Co Ltd Fung Group
Archived Co-Sponsors
ABN AMRO Bank N.V. Agile Property Holdings Ltd Asian Union New Media (Group) Ltd
Baker & McKenzie Bejing North Star Company Limited Cable TV*
Causeway Corner Limited ChampionREIT China Agri-Industries Holdings Limited
China Everbright Bank, Hong Kong Branch China Resources Enterprise Limited China South City Holdings Limited
China Windpower Group Limited Chong Hing Bank Chow Tai Fook Jewellery
CIAM Group Limited City Super Limited Concord Industrial & Commercial
Corporate Governance Development Foundation Fund Crystal International Group Limited CSPC Pharmaceutical Group Limited
DBS Asia Capital Limited Development Enterprise Ltd Enerchina Holdings Limited
EQS TodayIR* Esprit Holdings Limited EY
FANCL Gammon Construction Limited Guru Investor Relations Company*
Henderson Land Development Company Limited Hong Kong Economic Times* Hopewell Holdings Limited
I.T Limited ICSA Boardroom Apps Ltd iMoney*
Karrie International Holdings Limited KPMG KWG Property Holding Ltd
Kwoon Chung Bus Holdings Limited Link Asset Management Limited Lockton Companies (Hong Kong) Limited
Mazars CPA Limited CPAs Mei Ah Entertainment Group Ltd Melco International Development Limited
Metro Broadcast* Metro Prosperity Mission Hills Group
Mongolia Energy Corporation Nan Fung Group NWS Holdings Limited
Orient Holdings Group PCCW Ping An Insurance (Group) Company of China, Ltd
Protiviti PwC S.A.S. Dragon Holdings Ltd.
Safety Godown Co Ltd Salon Films (HK) Ltd San Ho Enterprises Limited
Shenzhen Investment Limited Shui On Construction and Materials Limited SJM Holdings Limited
South China Morning Post* SRE Group Limited Strategic Public Relations Group
Tai Sang Land Development Ltd Television Broadcasts Limited* Texwinca Holdings Limited 
The Asset* The Cross-Harbour (Holdings) Limited The Kowloon Motor Bus Company (1933) Limited*
The Standard* The Wall Street Journal* Tianjin Development Holdings Limited
Tsuen Lee Group (Holdings) Ltd. VCast* Vinda International Holdings Limited
Woo Kwan Lee & Lo Worldwide Executive Centre 大生地產發展有限公司
Media Sponsors
Hong Kong Economic Times Metro Broadcast The Standard
TVB Wisdom Investor Relations Limited Salon Films (HK) Ltd
Honorary Selection Consultants
Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu Ernst & Young Heidrick & Struggles
Korn/Ferry International KPMG PricewaterhouseCoopers
Russell Reynolds Associates Spencer Stuart

Theme of Previous Years

Year Theme
2023 Transform for a Better Tomorrow
2022 From Resilience to Sustainability
2021 Leading in New Normal
2020 Vanguard in Challenging Times
2019 Embracing Innovation for Sustainable Growth
2018 Leadership in Times of Changes
2017 Belt and Road: Corporate Governance in Times of Opportunities
2016 Corporate Sustainability – The Board Crucial Role
2015 Good Corporate Governance: Cornerstone to a Strong Financial Centre
2014 Effective Leadership: Key to Corporate Success
2013 Promoting ESG Policies – Adding Corporate Value by the Board
2012 Enhancing Board Competence through Continuing Professional Development for Directors
2011 Enhancing Director Professionalism through Board Self-Appraisal
2010 Better Corporate Performance through Strengthened Corporate Governance
2009 Responsible Directors in Times of Adversity
2008 Director Professionalism: Key to Corporate Value
2007 Professional Directorship: Vanguard of Corporate Governance
2006 Board Excellence through Professional Directorship
2005 Shareholder Value Versus Stakeholder Interests Complementary Drivers of Corporate Governance
2004 Value Creation through Corporate Governance


Details on Nominations Terms and Conditions are available at theNomination Criteriasection under Awards.

Details on the Awards are available at http://hkiod.com/dya-current.html.


Please contact Ms. Odessa So, for further enquiry.
Tel: 2889 9986
Email: [email protected]

Skip to content