About the Awards

Directors Of The Year Awards were first launched in 2001 as the first ever such Awards organised in Asia. The project has now become an annual project of impact in the community organised by the Institute together with over 100 Project Partners. To date, 215 Awardees have been recognised for their achievements in demonstrating exemplary high standards in corporate governance.

Nominations of candidates are open to the public and are processed in a well-defined and stringent set of procedures. Awards are presented by company categories, viz Listed Companies, Private Companies and Non-profit-distributing Organisations, and by capacities, viz Executive Directors, Non-Executive Directors and Boards.

Directors Of The Year Awards Project Partners

The Hong Kong Institute of Directors
Financial Services and the Treasury Bureau
Securities and Futures Commission
Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited
Archived Lead Sponsors
Taifook Securities GroupHigh Fashion GroupShenzhen General Chamber of Commerce
Esprit Holdings LimitedC C Land Holdings LimitedShenzhen Business Elites Union
CitigroupNewOcean Energy Holdings LimitedChina Minsheng Drawin Technology Group Limited
The Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation LimitedChina Life Insurance (Overseas) Company LimitedCOSCO Pacific Limited
China Taiping Insurance Group LtdShenzhen General Chamber of CommerceShenzhen Business Elites Union
China Minsheng Drawin Technology Group LimitedAllied Group LimitedChow Tai Fook Jewellery Group Limited
Standard Chartered Bank (Hong Kong) Limited
Archived Joint Sponsors
Taifook Securities GroupPlaymates Holdings LimitedChina Merchants Finance Holdings Company Limited
American International Underwriters, LimitedJP MorganWing Lung Bank Limited
CLP Holdings LimitedNWS Holdings LimitedGuotai Junan International Holdings Limited
Corporate Governance Development Foundation FundHop Hing Group Holdings LimitedThe Cross-Harbour (Holdings) Limited
China Resources (Holdings) Co LtdFung Group
Archived Co-Sponsors
ABN AMRO Bank N.V.Agile Property Holdings LtdAsian Union New Media (Group) Ltd
Baker & McKenzieCauseway Corner LimitedChina Agri-Industries Holdings Limited
China Resources Enterprise, LimitedChina South City Holdings LimitedChina Windpower Group Limited
Chong Hing BankChow Tai Fook Jewellery Group LimitedCIAM Group Limited
City Super LimitedConcord Industrial & Commercial Development Enterprise LtdCorporate Governance Development Foundation Fund
The Cross-Harbour (Holdings) LimitedCSPC Pharmaceutical Group LimitedDBS Asia Capital Limited
Enerchina Holdings LimitedEsprit Holdings LimitedEY
FANCLGammon Construction LimitedHopewell Holdings Limited
ICSA Boardroom Apps LtdI.T LimitedKPMG
The Kowloon Motor Bus Company (1933) LimitedKWG Property Holding LtdKwoon Chung Bus Holdings Limited
Link Asset Management LimitedMainland Headwear Holdings LimitedMazars CPA Limited CPAs
Mei Ah Entertainment Group LtdMelco International Development LimitedMission Hills Group
Mongolia Energy CorporationNWS Holdings LimitedOrient Holdings Group
PCCWPing An Insurance (Group) Company of China, LtdProtiviti
PwCSafety Godown Co LtdSan Ho Enterprises Limited
Shenzhen Investment LimitedShui On Construction and Materials LimitedSJM Holdings Limited
SRE Group LimitedStrategic Public Relations GroupTai Sang Land Development Ltd
Tianjin Development Holdings LimitedTsuen Lee Group (Holdings) LtdVinda International Holdings Limited
Woo Kwan Lee & LoWorldwide Executive Centre
Media Sponsors
Hong Kong Economic TimesMetro BroadcastThe Standard
TVBWisdom Investor Relations LimitedSalon Films (HK) Ltd
Honorary Selection Consultants
Deloitte Touche TohmatsuErnst & YoungHeidrick & Struggles
Korn/Ferry InternationalKPMGPricewaterhouseCoopers
Russell Reynolds AssociatesSpencer Stuart

Theme of Previous Years

2020Vanguard in Challenging Times
2019Embracing Innovation for Sustainable Growth
2018Leadership in Times of Changes
2017Belt and Road: Corporate Governance in Times of Opportunities
2016Corporate Sustainability – The Board Crucial Role
2015Good Corporate Governance: Cornerstone to a Strong Financial Centre
2014Effective Leadership: Key to Corporate Success
2013Promoting ESG Policies – Adding Corporate Value by the Board
2012Enhancing Board Competence through Continuing Professional Development for Directors
2011Enhancing Director Professionalism through Board Self-Appraisal
2010Better Corporate Performance through Strengthened Corporate Governance
2009Responsible Directors in Times of Adversity
2008Director Professionalism: Key to Corporate Value
2007Professional Directorship: Vanguard of Corporate Governance
2006Board Excellence through Professional Directorship
2005Shareholder Value Versus Stakeholder Interests Complementary Drivers of Corporate Governance
2004Value Creation through Corporate Governance


Details on Nominations Terms and Conditions are available at theNomination Criteriasection under Directors Of The Year Awards.

Details on the Awards are available at http://hkiod.com/dya-current.html.


Please contact Ms. Odessa So, for further enquiry.
Tel: 2889 9986
Email: dya@hkiod.com

Skip to content